Websites and “Logging Out”

Closing or minimizing your browser or typing in a new web address when you're done using your online account may not be enough to prevent others from gaining access to your account information. Instead, click on the "log out" button to terminate your online session. Many sites give you the option to stay logged in to make your experience more convenient. That convenience comes at the cost of security. In addition, don't permit your browser to "remember" your username and password information. If this browser feature is active, anyone using your computer will have access to your account information.

Learn from David Airey’s mistake…
In some cases, not logging out can even cost you your livelihood. Graphic designer David Airey, who owned a website domain for his business, found out the hard way. He left his email account active while searching the web, then unknowingly visited a malware-infected website. The thieves behind the fraudulent site gained access to his email account and personal information, secretly transferred ownership of his web domain to their names, and Airey sadly woke up to find his business website was no longer owned by him.

RESOURCES
http://www.davidairey.com/google-gmail-security-hijack/